Skip to content

The Week in Review

August 31, 2012

Whew, what a week! My boys started school Monday which I’m sure everyone guessed by the loud singing and non-stop dancing that has been going on at my house this week. It was a day I had dreamed of throughout the entire summer and yes, it was everything I had hoped it would be. Now we are back in the school, homework, extracurricular activity cycle and I am almost wishing we had the lazy summer schedule back. Almost!

Drama in the book review world has been making headlines recently. Authors behaving badly, reviewers getting harassed, and authors buying fake reviews. You can find the full story on the reviews for purchase here. While I for one was shocked and disgusted that authors would pay for a review to boost sales, people I know from outside the world of publishing were not. They agreed it was wrong and dishonest but the outrage that was evident from within the publishing industry was absent with them. I think unless you are in the industry, which for my purposes includes authors, publishing employees, and book reviewers, you don’t understand how important good, honest reviews are to an author.

But it’s not all dark clouds and sinister con men looking to make a quick buck. This past week, and every week as far as I can tell, awesome books were released. I added quite a few to my TBR and as soon as I finish the first draft of my wip I can read some of them! What do you do to reward yourself for hard work? Shoes, cookies, and more books are my drugs of choice. And because we all need a laugh check out The Publishing Process in GIF Form. I hope you all had a wonderful summer and are enjoying the start of a new school year as much as I am.

Best,

Sophia

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

