Skip to content

Thirteen Writing Time Wasters

March 11, 2010

Thirteen ways I waste time when I should be writing:

13. Cleaning: I am of the belief that housework can’t kill you by why take the chance. Or at least I am until I have a good chunk of writing time and then I have this unyielding need to scrub my toilet.

12. Phone Calls: I don’t like talking on the phone. Without fail the moment I put the thing to my ear, everyone in the house needs me, immediately. Of course, I find myself picking up the phone and dialing when I should be writing. Why?

11. Instant Messaging: So, I’ve made my unnecessary phone calls and the darn cursor is blinking away, mocking me and my suddenly MIA muse. What do I do? I check to see who’s online and bother them with incessant chit chat.

10. Facebook: I can waste thirty minutes on this site and not type a single word.

9. Twitter: When I’m done wasting time on Facebook, I head on over and see what my tweeps are up to. Not that I can keep up with the 119 people I follow, but hey I’m trying.

8. Shopping: Online shopping is one of my biggest downfalls, it not only wastes my time but my money as well. Things I shop for the most: books, clothes, and shoes.

7. Outings: Walk? Sure! Errands? Hell yes! Library? Why not, I haven’t been there in a whole 72 hours. Someone seriously needs to glue my behind to the chair!

6. Organizing: I start with the counter that my laptop sits on and move around the house from there. This along with the rest of the cleaning are the only two time wasters the hubby appreciates.

5. Plot Generators: Do you think maybe I should work on the plot of my current work in progress that I have taken the time to plot out on a big storyboard that is sitting right in front of me instead of generating new plots? Two of my favorites, just so you can waste some of your precious writing time too: Plot Scenario Generator and Seventh Sanctum.

4. Reading and TV: Not all the reading I do can be seen as a time waster, it is one of the many places I find inspiration. But when I’m reading “Puppy’s Big Day at the Farm” just for fun, even my three year old knows I’m procrastinating. As for tv, I will accept that just about anything there can inspire me but when I’m watching a shopping channel at 2pm someone needs to hit me with the remote and make me write.

3. Research: I call it “research” but when I use search terms like hot, shirtless, males, wet, clothing optional,  firefighter, or naughty we know it probably won’t further the plot of my book. Well actually it might but I will be too distracted by the man candy to write.

2. Website/Blog: Oh the hours I spend here tweaking this and that, updating the color scheme, editing my bio, checking my stats, trying new templates, rearranging pages, etc. Seriously someone needs to lock me down. Now.

1. Romance Divas: RD is my home away from home. I learned more on this site in a month than I did in a year on my own. I wouldn’t be where I am right now without them. But, I’m a chatty girl and when I get onto the site I want to catch up with the ladies and find out what’s happening in their world, not do something boring like write!

What is your biggest time waster? How do you get yourself to focus on the task of writing? Happy Thursday Everyone!

Sophia


Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!

The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others’ comments. It’s easy, and fun!

Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

View More Thursday Thirteen Participants

15 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 8:56 am

    Yup – I have a lot of those on my list, too. Numbers one through four, for example.
    And number ten. And a few you don’t have listed – but I won’t say what they are, ’cause I don’t want to make you waste still MORE time. 😉

    Happy TT!

  2. March 11, 2010 9:32 am

    I don’t watch tv, IM or uhm, clean really. I hate FB. But I waste more time reading book reviews of books I have already read! Makes no sense to me but I do it!

  3. March 11, 2010 10:07 am

    twitter and RD are the biggies for me. really big.

    also fiddling about with my music to get just the right play list.

  4. March 11, 2010 10:21 am

    I tend to use as writing as my procrastination tool, not the other way around.
    But if I’m procrastinating with edits, I’ll do some reading and forum surfing. I might even do laundry.

  5. March 11, 2010 10:53 am

    Several I’m guilty of and thanks for the “new” ideas. LOL.

  6. March 11, 2010 11:02 am

    RD is my biggest distraction. And Hulu.
    Like Elise, I can spend hours looking for music for the right mood. I can also get lost on Istock looking at pictures for “inspiration”. LOL.

  7. March 11, 2010 11:23 am

    Oh yes, definitely Facebook. I had to limit my game playing from three games to one because I wasn’t getting ANY writing done. LOL

  8. March 11, 2010 11:34 am

    I’m with you on some of those! LOL!

    *hugs*
    Paige

    My TT is at http://paigetylertheauthor.blogspot.com/

  9. March 11, 2010 11:46 am

    Talking is probably my worst distraction. When I should be writing, I’ll go to great lengths to find someone to talk to.

  10. March 11, 2010 12:31 pm

    Great list! I am AWFUL about wasting time on Twitter and a few forums…

  11. March 11, 2010 2:20 pm

    The Internet in general can be a huge pitfall, lol. At least I’ve managed to resist facebook and twitter…so far. 😉

  12. March 11, 2010 3:28 pm

    I go blog hopping – that takes care of a lot of time. Sometimes I’ll even do the ironing rather than write!

  13. sashadevlin permalink
    March 11, 2010 10:09 pm

    You made me laugh! RD is my biggest distraction. Followed by Ravelry (a knitting and crochet forum) and then books. I want to write, but really there are so many good books to read.

  14. March 11, 2010 11:04 pm

    Actually, I’d like to think that none of those things are time wasters – just time sinks. Distractions from writing. And almost every last one you have on your list is on mine.

    I’ll end the comment here so we both can try to get some writing done. 😉

  15. melsmag permalink
    March 11, 2010 11:04 pm

    Guilty!

Leave a Reply

