Skip to content

Thursday Thirteen

November 19, 2009

This Thursday I’m thinking about Thanksgiving and the dishes I would usually make. I say usually because this year we will be in Florida so I won’t be cooking. We are hitting the road for a trip to Disney World and to spend Thanksgiving with my dad, which happens to fall on his birthday this year. So here are thirteen things I usually serve on Thanksgiving:

  1. Caramelized Onion and White Cheddar Dip
  2. Cheese and Cracker and Vegetable Trays
  3. Maple Glazed Turkey with Sage Butter
  4. Homemade Cornbread and Apple Stuffing
  5. Roasted Sweet Potatoes
  6. Mashed Potatoes
  7. Green Beans with Almonds
  8. Homemade Macaroni and Cheese
  9. Rolls
  10. Spinach Salad with Red Onion and Oranges and a Citrus Vinaigrette
  11. Corn
  12. Pumpkin Pie
  13. Cherry Pie

So that’s the menu which doesn’t include all the wine, beer, and coffee we usually consume. Do you cook a traditional meal every year? What are you looking forward to eating next Thursday? Me? I’m looking forward to no dishes this year! Have a great weekend and enjoy the holiday, no matter how you’re celebrating!

Best,

Sophia


Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!

The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others’ comments. It’s easy, and fun!

Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

View More Thursday Thirteen Participants

22 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2009 9:58 am

    Yum! I can’t wait for Thanksgiving dinner!

    • Sophia Parkwood permalink*
      November 19, 2009 3:13 pm

      Since I’m not cooking this year I’m making the meal for Christmas Eve. Can’t wait!

  2. November 19, 2009 10:01 am

    YAY!! We’re going to Disney World too! 😀 Maybe I’ll see you there. 😉 Have a great trip!

    • Sophia Parkwood permalink*
      November 19, 2009 3:13 pm

      Have fun!

  3. November 19, 2009 10:02 am

    Funny- last year I was in Orlando and this year I’ll be home making those items 🙂

    http://iamharriet.blogspot.com/2009/11/would-you-want-your-phone-number-to-be.html

    • Sophia Parkwood permalink*
      November 19, 2009 3:14 pm

      Enjoy your meal!

  4. November 19, 2009 10:18 am

    Mmmm! I love cornbread. We had our Turkey day last month. Enjoy your time away! Happy T13!

    • Sophia Parkwood permalink*
      November 19, 2009 3:15 pm

      I make the corn bread the day before so the stuffing is totally homemade. I even wear an apron. 🙂

  5. November 19, 2009 12:41 pm

    I really like turkey and stuffing. My husband likes to make cornbread stuffing, but I really love sage stuffing. He makes the most amazing cranberry sauce from real cranberries. It’s like sex on a plate.

    🙂

    THE FOOD, THE FOOD is like sex on a plate.

    Well, my husband is too, but that’s a different tale.

    Happy TT!

    • Sophia Parkwood permalink*
      November 19, 2009 3:17 pm

      I forgot the cranberry sauce! How could I forget that, it is the best part of the sandwiches the next day. Yes, I slather it on nice and thick! Sure it’s the food! 😉

  6. November 19, 2009 12:54 pm

    My family does cornbread dressing too, but it’s cornbread and peacans.

    • Sophia Parkwood permalink*
      November 19, 2009 3:17 pm

      That sounds delicious! I’ll have to try it!

  7. November 19, 2009 1:37 pm

    You know – The Big Guy and I are both the youngest, and we have no little nuggets yet, so I have only once hosted a Family gathering. And It was more amusing then anything – we got the TurDucEn. Yummy.

    But We do host huge open house parties for my birfday most years when we’re not traveling. Those are fantastic. I put on a heck of a party!

    • Sophia Parkwood permalink*
      November 19, 2009 3:18 pm

      I bet you do! Have a great holiday, Dee!

  8. November 19, 2009 2:20 pm

    Love the turkey and mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, corn, black olives… I hosted the last two years, but have no idea what i am doing this year. Life is sort of in limbo at the moment. Have fun with the mouse!

    • Sophia Parkwood permalink*
      November 19, 2009 3:19 pm

      Thanks, I think we will have a great time! Have a great holiday!

  9. November 19, 2009 5:47 pm

    Yum! I’d love some cherry pie right now.

    • Sophia Parkwood permalink*
      November 19, 2009 6:31 pm

      Me too, with a big scoop of ice cream on the side. 😀

  10. November 20, 2009 2:49 am

    so interesting to see what other people do for T-day. Nice list.

  11. November 20, 2009 8:34 pm

    Sounds yummy!

    *hugs*
    Paige

    My TT is at http://paigetylertheauthor.blogspot.com/

  12. November 25, 2009 11:45 am

    I’m late to the party–NaNo has sucked up all my time!–but wanted to say Happy Thanksgiving and hope you’re having a marvelous time in Disney! Oh yeah, and you have to pass me these recipes:

    Maple Glazed Turkey with Sage Butter
    Homemade Cornbread and Apple Stuffing

    They sound so yummy!

    Let’s catch up for some coffee or something in December before things get too crazy!

  13. Kalie permalink
    November 27, 2009 7:11 pm

    I hope you had a happy Thanksgiving and you all had fun at Dinsey World!! Hope your writing is still going well.

Leave a Reply

