Skip to content

One Year Deep

November 4, 2009

Carrot on a StickWayne Gretzky said, “You miss 100 percent of the shots you never take.”  Denis Waitley said, “The first step towards success will be the biggest one.” And Dr Seuss said, “Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.” Three inspirational quotes from three very different men. So what do they have to do with writing romance? For me, quite a lot. One year ago I decided to listen the voices in my head and tell the stories of the characters that had been banging around between my ears for months on end. Words like those above and the amazing support of my family have allowed me to put myself out there and take a chance on writing, as a career, not simply a hobby.

It has been a very interesting year, to say the least. I have learned there are a lot of things to always include in a manuscript and various others to use only if I wish to remain in the slush pile. I have typed countless pages and learned that sometimes, in hind sight, the delete key is my best friend. I have filled notebooks with pages of ideas and realized that my family will not eat frozen pizza three nights in a row no matter how nicely I ask. And Kate has brought to light my distaste for commas. (Thank goodness you’re my CP honey! 😉 ) But the best thing I have learned is that I love to write. No matter how hard it is to get published, no matter how thick a skin I will have to grow to deal with the criticism and rejection of my stories, and no matter how many times I have to rewrite Chapter One to get it just right, I will continue to write. Writing makes me happy, gets me back to myself, and is a whole lot of fun to boot.

So I will keep chasing the carrot, continue down the long hallway toward the light, insert next cliche here, and I will do it with a smile on my face. dark hallwayHow about you, have you taken a chance with your dreams? Did it turn out well or was there no reward with the risk? I wish all you the best of luck and truly hope you find something that makes you as happy as writing makes me. And if you too have character voices rumbling around in your head, why not take a chance? I bet you won’t be sorry.

Best,

Sophia

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

