Skip to content

Thursday Thirteen

September 10, 2009

Thursday Thirteen

Here are thirteen women I would love to spend the day getting to know. In no particular order:

  1. Jenny Crusie: One of my favorite authors in the whole world. If I could have a tenth of her talent I would be set for life. She is a living legend.
  2. Ina Garten: The Barefoot Contessa. She is an author, host of a show on Food Network, and former White House nuclear policy analyst. Plus I bet she would bring lunch.
  3. Jane Austen: You don’t really need me to tell you why do you?
  4. Laura Bush: Our former First Lady has had a love for books and reading her whole life. As a former teacher and librarian a large part of her focus during her husband’s time in office was on education. She also focused much effort on women’s health. It would be a true honor to spend even ten minutes with this amazing woman.
  5. Gena Showlater: I can thank this woman for my love of paranormal romance and my subsequent dream to write it. Plus I’d really like to know how she writes so fast.
  6. Nora Roberts: The woman is an icon and she has really cool shoes.
  7. Amelia Earhart: Besides being an aviation pioneer she was also an author.
  8. Janet Evanovich: Another legend in her own time. I got to hear her talk at the RWA this year, it only made me want to know more.
  9. Rachel Ray: Love her or hate her the woman has built an empire and I want to know how.
  10. Giada De Laurentiis: I would just have to make sure JD didn’t stalk us. I’m sure he would want an up close and personal view of her “shirt.”
  11. Oprah: The woman is an empire.
  12. Joan of Arc:A peasant girl who led armies to victory, was responsible for the coronation of a king, and burned at the stake for her efforts, all by the age of nineteen.
  13. Kresley Cole: Her books are amazing and she is a very nice person. I would love to pick her brain for a day.

There are so many more amazing women that have inspired me and made the world we live in a better place. These were just thirteen off the top of my head, there are hundreds more I would like to meet. Who would you spend the day with if you could spend it with anyone? Happy Thursday and have a great weekend!

Best,

Sophia

18 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2009 8:18 am

    Janet Evanovich is one of the few authors who make me laugh out loud while reading. Kresley Cole is another very humorous lady, and I love Gena’s Lords of the Underworld. I had to have a signed copy of Reyes’ story, though I think Darkest Whisper is the best book to date.

  2. September 10, 2009 8:20 am

    Ditto on Nora Roberts and Rachel Ray! 🙂 They’re awesome. Happy Thursday!

  3. September 10, 2009 8:27 am

    Aung San Suu Kyi, but only once she’s free so talking with me wouldn’t get her banged up in her house for another few years.

  4. September 10, 2009 9:28 am

    Some very interesting ladies, for sure. I’d really love to meet Bette Midler, Mayo Angelou and my fav editor LOL

    Fun list. Happy T13!

  5. September 10, 2009 9:43 am

    I’d love to sit with Toni Morrison for a day. I’ve heard her speak in a small group setting and seen a few interviews of her. She’s not only brilliant, but also seems so intriguing and full of stories.

  6. September 10, 2009 9:59 am

    NR definitely has cool shoes.

    Most of the ladies on your list are ones I’d love to spend a day getting to know.

    I’d add Mother Theresa and Indira Gandhi.

  7. cmtorrens permalink
    September 10, 2009 10:27 am

    WOW, great list. Since you added long time past women, I really would have liked to meet Amelia Earhart. I was obsessed with the woman as a teen.

  8. September 10, 2009 11:21 am

    What a great idea!

    The women I’d want to spend the day with aren’t writers, but photographers: Monica Silva and Annie Liebovitz. Just to be able to learn from these two artists would give me enough inspiration to keep my camera out full-time and really work to hone my craft.

    But I suppose I’ll have to stick to writing. I might make a career out of that, one day. 😉

    Happy TT!

  9. September 10, 2009 11:42 am

    Interesting TT!

    *hugs*
    Paige

    My TT is at http://paigetylertheauthor.blogspot.com/

  10. September 10, 2009 12:16 pm

    I would love to spend an afternoon with Jane Austin. Only, at the end of the afternoon, I’d still probably want to keep her.

  11. September 10, 2009 12:59 pm

    Some very cool ladies on that list. But you forgot me!!

  12. September 10, 2009 2:10 pm

    I don’t think I need to remind you that we were both border-line stalkers with Gena AND Kresley! Somehow I think we’re on their DO NOT BE ALONE WITH THIS PERSON list. Drats. But I’m so with you on some of those other great ladies you have on there. Although I’m pretty sure I would pee my pants if I was alone with Oprah. That woman is so sharp I wouldn’t know what to even say.

  13. September 10, 2009 3:24 pm

    What a fascinating and diverse list of women. Imagine being able to get them all together? Could be interesting.

  14. September 10, 2009 4:14 pm

    I want to know how Gena Showalter writes so fast too. Great list!

  15. September 10, 2009 9:51 pm

    Oh, I like to spend an afternoon with either Anne McCaffrey or Pat Hodgell both write wonderfully and I imagine have wonderful stories to tell.

    Happy TT,
    Janice~

  16. Rosalind Stone permalink
    September 10, 2009 10:56 pm

    Same as Shelly re: Gena S….and Nora Roberts! If only I could write that quickly!

    Nice list – it would be amazing if they could all be in the same room just chatting away with adoring fans (maybe if we can get a time machine built…)

  17. September 14, 2009 5:18 pm

    I thought I had posted to this last week, but guess it didn’t go through. I’m with you on Jane, Nora and Jeanne d’Arc — all interesting women living in vastly different times!

Leave a Reply

