Skip to content

Thursday Thirteen

August 27, 2009

I had wanted to make a list of the thirteen songs that must be played on road trips. But I just got home yesterday afternoon from a road trip and after unloading the car and putting everything away I was tired. So instead I decided to share thirteen places I have visited. Next week I’m going to do thirteen places I want to visit. Then we’ll get to the songs that need to be played on these trips.

Thirteen Places I’ve visited in my life:

  1. Orlando, FL: I have been here many times, most recently with the boys for spring break and Disney World.
  2. Myrtle Beach, SC: The spring break destination for almost every New Yorker.
  3. Mesa, AZ: JD’s stomping ground.
  4. Las Vegas, NV: The strip is a fun place to visit, for about three days, and then you need a break. There is a whole city around the tourist destination and everything I did there thankfully stayed in Vegas.  😉
  5. Pensacola, FL: My big brother was stationed here when he was in the Navy and it just so happens to be right near the beach. I was more than happy to visit.
  6. Gettysburg, PA: I went when I was younger and I remember complaining the whole time. Now I live not too far from the city and I would love to go and walk the battle fields for a few days. Why didn’t I pay attention all those years ago?
  7. Paris, France: I played soccer in high school and I was actually good. I had the opportunity to go to Europe and play against girls my age. They ran circles around us but we had a great time. I got to see all the sights, Eiffel Tower, Louvre, Seine River, Notre Dame, Arc de Triumph. I could go on and on.
  8. Amsterdam, Netherlands: Another stop in Europe where once again circles were run around us. But we still had a good time. The buildings here are also amazing.
  9. Toronto, ON: I have visited this city many times for baseball games and concerts. I have never seen a cleaner city.
  10. Niagara Falls, NY: I used to live not too far from this city so we visited often. The falls are beautiful.
  11. Seneca Lake, NY: My family had a place here when I was growing up. Even after I moved out I would spend a lot of time visiting.
  12. Ithaca, NY: Yes it is gorges!
  13. Virginia Beach, VA: Our most recent visit. JD, L, D, and I all had a really great time and I have the sun burn to prove it!

What  is your favorite place to visit? Have a great Thursday everyone!

Best,

Sophia

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2009 8:57 am

    I have often said the same of Toronto. Cleanest city I’ve ever visited!

  2. August 27, 2009 9:01 am

    The only places I’ve been to on your list are Orlando and Pensacola. That’s about it. LOL I love traveling though. Happy Thursday! *Hugs*

  3. August 27, 2009 9:28 am

    Wow, you sure get around lol I envy your experience in Paris.
    Happy T13!

  4. August 27, 2009 9:51 am

    I’m going to Vegas during Halloween. Give me tips!!!!

  5. cmtorrens permalink
    August 27, 2009 10:46 am

    Happy TT!

    Great list of 13. One of these days I promised myself DH and I would tour Europe. The kids are almost grown so I hope we can do that soon.

    PS. My baby sister was actually born in Vegas on our way home to Utah. My mother was not a happy person. lol.

    -Chris Q

  6. August 27, 2009 11:46 am

    Yes to Orlando, Las Vegas, and Pensacola!

    *hugs*
    Paige

    My TT is at http://paigetylertheauthor.blogspot.com/

  7. August 27, 2009 2:10 pm

    Loved visits to Paris, Gettysburg and Niagara Falls, and would love to see them all again. I think I’d need a month to really do Paris right this time. At least. LOL

  8. August 27, 2009 2:18 pm

    Paris is the only place on that list I’ve visited. I love walking around the Montparnasse cemetery – it’s a tip for anyone looking for some peace & quiet while in Paris.

    Generally, I prefer big cities to the beach. I’m a sightseeing nut! I think I’d say London & Rome are my most favorite places.

  9. David Bridger permalink
    August 27, 2009 2:21 pm

    The only places on your list I’ve visited are Paris, for a long weekend, and Virginia Beach, which I got to know very well.

    My favourite place to re-visit would be Bermuda.

  10. August 27, 2009 4:19 pm

    Hey! In answer to your question on my blog – YES and YES. I listen to music while I write…it helps me when I have background noise. I can’t listen to something that’s really loud or heavy, which is why I tend to listen to singer/songwriter songs. But these songs –or rather, melodies–definitely inspire me. Especially for the love scenes since I find the melodies really sexy. 😉

  11. August 27, 2009 5:29 pm

    I’m not much of a traveler. I can’t think of 13 places I’ve been. I did like my visit to Tennessee and would like to go back some day.

  12. August 27, 2009 9:56 pm

    I was just at VA Beach recently, too. It was very windy when we were there. lol.

    Happy Thursday!

  13. August 27, 2009 10:10 pm

    Oh I love to visit Fort Bragg, California. It’s a beautiful little coastal town. Summer of 08, me, the kids and my mom went to Montana. That was awesome.
    Most of all, I love to head up to the hills up by the Van Duzen river here in my area.

  14. September 2, 2009 10:41 am

    that is a tempting list Sophia. I dont think I have visited 13 yet! 😦
    Visit my T-13

Leave a Reply

