Skip to content

Baby Come Back! (And a book review too.)

July 30, 2009

     My love for reading spans many different genres. I like a good mystery or suspense novel, like  those in the Stephanie Plum series. I enjoy losing myself in a women’s fiction novel, Jennifer Weiner is one of my favorite authors. And I obviously love romance novels, insert just about any romance novelists name here. I enjoy many different types of romance: paranormal, category, romantic suspense, even a historical now and then. But the books I love the most are contemporary romance novels. In my opinion authors like Jenny Crusie, Rachel Gibson, Jill Shalvis, Christie Ridgway, and so many more like them can do no wrong.

     With the recent flood of paranormal stories it is becoming harder and harder to find new contemporaries. I was lucky enough to score a few from the RWA conference this month, but like the romance junkie that I admittidly am I need more, more, more. So this is a plea to all the romance writers out there, please put me out of my misery and give me some new contemporaries to read. The ones in my TBR pile are dropping like flies and I can feel the withdrawal shakes waiting in the wings.

     On a more positive note I have found a writer that is moving into the contemporary genre. Victoria Dahl started off writing historical romance but in January 2009 she ventured into the world of contemporary romance. Talk Me Down was a recent read of mine and I give it a solid thumbs up. I fell in love with both Molly and Ben in the first chapter and couldn’t put the book down until I reached the last page. (Still fanning myself from the memorable ending. ;)) Start Me Up is the second book in the Tumble Creek series and I can’t wait to dive into it. I was fortunate enough to meet Victoria at the Literacy for Life autographing in DC this year. I have to say, when I meet an author as nice and sweet as she was it makes me fall in love with their books just that much more.

If you want to learn more about Victoria anTMD%20Initial%20Cover%20-%2010%20percentd her amazinStartMeUp-Smallg books please visit her website. TheWickedWestCoverTiny

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Happy Reading,

Sophia

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 3, 2009 10:31 am

    I have heard only WONDERFUL things about Victoria Dahl and you’ve just reminded me that I really need to grab something of hers from the library. Thanks, S! 😛

Leave a Reply

