Skip to content

The Lost Art of the Turn Signal

July 26, 2009

Captain D and I were talking one night at dinner about driving in the big city and how a lot of drivers don’t use turn signals anymore. I hadn’t thought much about until he mentioned it and then of course it became painfully obvious to me while I was out and about one day. It seems, at least in my neck of the woods, that the use of ones turn signal has become an optional thing and it got me thinking. (What can I say, I’m a writer, boiling water makes me think.) Why don’t people take the time to use their turn signals anymore? Is it too hard to move a finger over to the bar sticking out of the steering wheel they are holding and let their fellow drivers know that their turn is coming up and they will be breaking or that they will be changing lanes? I think we, as a society, are just too busy to bother with the little things in life anymore. We are too busy talking or texting on our phones, thinking about something else that needsto be done as soon as possible, or one of many other things that occupy our minds throughout the day. I can’t say that I am innocent of this transgression but I am trying to be better. I am trying to slow down and take the time for the little things in life, like putting on my turn signal or taking the time to listen to my kids tell a funny story or put on a silly show for me, or even sitting with my wonderful husband in bed after a long day and talking about nothing in particular. I know it has been said many times in many ways but in the end the things we are going to think about most in life are not the endless work hours or the time spent in meaningless phone conversations. The things we are going to remember most are the little things that may have gone unoticed at the time but are the things that make our life complete. One of my favorites is laying in bed on a Sunday morning with Captain D, L and D sandwhiched between us and laughing about little nonsensical things. We forget that we all should be up and about getting breakfast going so we can start the day and get that two page long to do list going, we just enjoy each other’s company.  Those are the little things (like our turn signals) that I feel we all need to take the time to do. So how about you? What is your favorite little thing and do you get to do it as much as you wish you could?

Best,

Sophia

2 Comments leave one →
  1. mollymclain permalink
    July 26, 2009 8:45 pm

    My favorite “little thing” is going for rides in the woods with my hubby and kids. Back roads, munchy snacks, music and…laughter. We laugh about bumps along the way, whether the deer that just ran across the road had antlers or not, and mostly about my incessant singing to every song that comes on the radio. 😛 I love those stolen moments and really wish I had more of them. 🙂

    Thanks for making me think today, Sophia! 😛

  2. July 28, 2009 3:20 pm

    Just wanted to stop by and say Hi! How’s the manuscript coming along for the angels and demons call for Samhain?

Leave a Reply

