Skip to content

I survived the RWA Conference!

July 21, 2009

This past week I attended my first ever writing conference. Since this year’s RWA conference was right here in my own backyard I couldn’t resist going. When I arrived on the first day I really didn’t know what to expect. Two thousand women all in the same place was not it! At first I was overwhelmed but in the end I had the best time. I was able to meet many of the Romance Divas that I have talked to online, I made new friends, and I was even able to meet many of my favorite authors. (I am happy to report they were all very nice and that fame has only changed a few of them!) I also attended many workshops and learned more than I ever thought possible. Now that the conference is over I have a new drive to get my current manuscript done and submitted. After taking a workshop from the one and only Jenny Crusie, I am ready to begin my “Don’t Look Down” draft and implement her five turning points into my story. If you ever have the chance to take a workshop from her do it. She is a great presenter and one of those truly amazing authors I mentioned earlier. So I happily report that I survived my first ever writing conference. My brain is still a little mushy from all the information and I didn’t get a t-shirt, but I had the time of my life and I can’t wait to attend another one.

Best,

Sophia

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

